Money, money, money

Why hello. Long time no see. 

I’ve been very busy. Emailing every single person that possibly could help fund the Hackerspace takes time you know. And I really mean every single person. I sent out over 200 emails regarding funding and the Hackerspace opening. I even considered emailing my plumber. I mean, he could donate his services to the lab right? Good samaritinism and all.

After a long search, we decided to use my friend Cindy Wu’s crowd funding website Microryza. (Which you should check out anyway. She and her co-founder Denny started it on the idea of crowd funding science research ideas. They got accepted into one of the most prestigious incubators, and are now in the bay area working on expanding. Not only is it an essential idea to fostering small projects and science innovation, but Cindy is just an amazing person.)

The Microryza project should be coming out int the next couple of weeks or so, in which instance I will update with a long witty post (To me at least), which can all be paraphrased into “Give us money!”

On a different note, I just found out I made the semi-finalist rounds in the Thiel Fellowship. I have to fill out some more questions, and I will be scheduling my phone interview soon. I still can’t believe it’s happening to me. I screamed in the vocal range of an angry jawa for around 2 minutes, and then re-read the email several times to make sure I wasn’t wrong. It’s such an amazing opportunity, and you should really read more about it sometime. I’m still not sure how I feel about the idea of dropping out of college, but Peter Thiel’s ideas on how big ideas can’t wait are so relevant to my life, and the DIY bio community in general.

With Regards,

Katriona

 

2 thoughts on “Money, money, money

  1. Orlando

    Your style is so unique in comparison to other folks I’ve read stuff from. Thank you for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I will just book mark this site.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

